Press Release

Want to receive our press releases in your email?

Windham County Sheriff's Office
PO Box 266, Newfane, VT 05345

Awards presented at annual ceremony


NEWFANE -- The Windham County Sheriff's Office is proud to announce the recipients of numerous awards given on December 14st, 2019. Sheriff Mark R. Anderson presented the awards at the 6th Annual Awards Ceremony to recognize the actions of his staff.

The Sheriff's Merit Award was presented to Sergeant Dana Shepard who has demonstrated unusual devotion to duty in his assignment performing prisoner transports across the country, within the State of Vermont, and as the supervisor responsible for fleet management between April 2017 and December 2019.

Deputy First Class David Whittle was recognized as the Deputy of the Year for demonstrated excellence, unusual and continued dedication to the Windham County Sheriff’s Office as recognized by superiors, peers, and the public.

Dispatcher Lisa Record was recognized as the Dispatcher of the Year for excellent, unusual and continued dedication to the Windham County Sheriff's Office and the residents of Windham County, as recognized by superiors, peers, and the public.

Deputy Tim Vinton was given the Distinguished Employee Award which signifies an employee who demonstrates unusual flexibility, positive attitude, commitment and professionalism in his work as a School Resource Officer for the Windham Southeast School District.

The following employees were recognized for their years of dedicated service:
Holly Ellis - 35 years; Deputy John Mariano - 20 years; Sergeant Dana Shepard - 20 years; 1SG Robert Lakin - 15 years; Stanley Wasilewski - 10 years; Sgt. Chris Norton - 5 years; Sandy Boyd - 5 years.

Please join us in congratulating these individuals for their hard work and accomplishments!

Media Contact:
Sheriff Mark R. Anderson
Phone: 802-365-4942